# 2000 PARZEN PRIZE FOR STATISTICAL INNOVATION

## awarded by TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY DEPARTMENT OF STATISTICS to C. R. RAO

### April 24, 2000

#### 292 Breezeway MSC

#### 4 pm

#### Pictures from Parzen Prize Presentation and Reception, 4/24/2000

The 2000 EMANUEL AND CAROL PARZEN PRIZE FOR STATISTICAL INNOVATION is awarded to C. Radhakrishna Rao (Eberly Professor of Statistics, and Director of the Center for Multivariate Analysis, at the Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA 16802) for outstanding distinction and eminence in research on the theory of statistics, in applications of statistical methods in diverse fields, in providing international leadership for 55 years in directing statistical research centers, in continuing impact through his vision and effectiveness as a scholar and teacher, and in extensive service to American and international society.

The year 2000 motivates us to plan for the future of the discipline of statistics which emerged in the 20th century as a firmly grounded mathematical science due to the pioneering research of Pearson, Gossett, Fisher, Neyman, Hotelling, Wald, Cramer, and Rao. Numerous honors and awards to Rao demonstrate the esteem in which he is held throughout the world for his unusually distinguished and productive life. C. R. Rao was born September 10, 1920, received his Ph.D. from Cambridge University (England) in 1948, and has been awarded 22 honorary doctorates. He has worked at the Indian Statistical Institute (1944-1992), University of Pittsburgh (1979- 1988), and Pennsylvania State University (1988- ).

Professor Rao is the author (or co-author) of 14 books and over 300 publications. His pioneering contributions (in linear models, multivariate analysis, design of experiments and combinatorics, probability distribution characterizations, generalized inverses, and robust inference) are taught in statistics textbooks.

Professor Rao will present a popular lecture entitled:

#### ``STATISTICS; A TECHNOLOGY FOR THE MILLENNIUM''

Reception to follow in 205 MSC

#### EMANUEL AND CAROL PRIZE FOR STATISTICAL INNOVATION

To promote the dissemination of statistical achievements, the Parzen Prize for Statistical Innovation is awarded (around April of even numbered years) to North American statisticians who have made outstanding and influential contributions to the development of applicable and innovative statistical methods. The Parzen Prize is awarded by the Department of Statistics at Texas A&M University to a nominee selected by the members of the Parzen Prize Committee who for 2000 were: Herman Chernoff, J. H. Matis, H. J. Newton, Grace Wahba, and Marvin Zelen.

Nominations for the year 2002 Parzen Prize should be submitted (by October 1, 2001) to Professor J. H. Matis, Department of Statistics, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77843-3143. Previous Parzen Prize winners, and their Parzen Prize lectures, are:

1994, Grace Wahba, Bascom Professor of Statistics at the University of Wisconsin; ``Statistical Models, Reproducing Kernels, Machine Learning, Multivariate Function Estimation, Cross Validation and all that ...". 1996, Donald B. Rubin, Professor of Statistics at Harvard University; ``Merging Statistical and Econometric Approaches to Causal Inference in Nonrandomized Studies." 1998, Bradley Efron, Professor of Statistics and Max Stein Professor of Humanities and Sciences, Stanford University; ``Astrophysics and Biostatistics: An Odd Couple".

Emanuel Parzen is Distinguished Professor of Statistics at Texas A&M University. In 1994 he was awarded the Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Medal of the American Statistical Association ``for outstanding research in Time Series Analysis, especially for his innovative introduction of reproducing kernel spaces, spectral analysis and spectrum smoothing; for pioneering contributions in quantile and density quantile functions and estimation; for unusually successful and influential textbooks in Probability and Stochastic Processes; for excellent and enthusiastic teaching and dissemination of statistical knowledge; and for a commitment to service on Society Councils, Government Advisory Committees, and Editorial Boards."

Copyright © Unless otherwise stated, all contents of these web pages are copyright by their respective authors or by the Department of Statistics, Texas A&M University, 1995-2000. Comments and questions about this site should be sent to web@stat.tamu.edu.